How far back do PAGA claims go?

A PAGA claim is generally one year from the date of the last employment law violation on which the PAGA claim is based.

Author: Brad Nakase, Attorney

Email  |  Call (888) 600-8654

How Far Back Do PAGA Claims Go?

A PAGA claim is generally one year from the date of the last employment law violation on which the PAGA claim is based. For example, Ollie is a business owner of a small retail company in San Diego, California. In 2022, California’s minimum wage was $15 per hour and San Diego’s minimum wage is $16.30 per hour. Ollie was unaware that San Diego’s minimum wage is higher than California’s minim wage. Kristina is an employee was supposed to earn minimum wage. However, when going over old paychecks, Kristina discovers that her employer had been paying her less than minimum wage. She decides to file a PAGA claim against her former employer Ollie, which would subject him to penalties for paying below the state minimum wage. However, Kristina is worried that she has missed the one year statute of limitations for PAGA claims. After all, it has been 11 months since she left her old job. Ollie and Kristina contacts their respect San Diego employment lawyer for a consultation in PAGA claims.

What Is the Statute of Limitations on PAGA Claims?

 The statute of limitations refers to the period of time during which an individual may file a lawsuit related to a particular subject. To file a PAGA claim, an individual in general has one year from the date of the most recent labor violation.

Thanks to the Private Attorney General Act, workers in California may file lawsuits against their employers if the employers violate labor laws. To file a claim against their employer, a worker must follow pre-filing requirements. These steps must be completed prior to the expiration of the statute of limitations. If the statute of limitations expires, then the courts will dismiss the PAGA claim.

What Is a PAGA Claim?

 A PAGA claim is a lawsuit that is filed over labor violations. Aggrieved workers are able to bring a PAGA claim against their employer in the state of California. The claim is filed against employers who violate the state’s labor laws. Workers who file a PAGA claim are looking to bring penalties against the employer, in the manner of a state agency.

The Private Attorney General Act, or PAGA, is a California law. The law allows workers in the state to file a lawsuit on behalf of the Attorney General. The law was enacted in 2004 as a way of better enforcing the state’s labor laws.

PAGA lawsuits are known as qui tam claims. This means that they are not looking for compensation for losses endured by the aggrieved worker. Rather, this kind of claim pursues civil penalties against the employer. The employer would have to pay these penalties for whatever labor violation they committed.

Employees who have experienced a labor violation at the hands of their employer may bring a PAGA claim against that employer. The employee may file the claim even if they signed away their ability to sue in their employment contract. To file a PAGA claim, an employee must first fulfill the notification requirements. The requirements must be met within one year of the alleged labor violation.

What Are PAGA Notification Requirements?

 To begin the filing of a PAGA claim, an aggrieved employee must first file a PAGA notice. A PAGA notice is a complaint that goes to the California Labor and Workforce Development Agency. This notice must be filed online with the agency. It must also be sent via certified mail to the employer in question. The notice must include the following information:

  • A summary of what occurred
  • The provisions of California’s labor laws that were violated
  • A list of aggrieved employees

It is not necessary to complete the factual outline of what occurred or the list of aggrieved employees. It is acceptable to submit these items partially completed.

That said, the PAGA notice needs to be more than a list of violations without any factual support. The PAGA notice that is sent to the employer via certified mail is meant to give the employer notice of the in-progress claim. The PAGA notice that is sent to the California Labor and Workforce Development Agency allows the agency to intervene if they want. The agency may choose to investigate the claim, though it has 65 days to make a decision on this score.

If the agency decides not to intervene in the case, then the aggrieved employee is free to file their own lawsuit against the employer. The lawsuit would then progress as a representative claim, which is similar in form to a class action lawsuit.

At this point in time, the aggrieved employee has 60 days to amend their claim. He or she may add other labor violations if relevant.

How Long Does an Employee Have to File a PAGA Lawsuit?

 An aggrieved employee who has suffered a labor violation has one year to file a PAGA notice. One year is therefore the statute of limitations for PAGA claims. The year-long period beings in the day of the most recent labor violation mentioned in the claim. The one year does not include the 65 days that the agency has to consider pursuing an intervention. The period also does not include the 60 days that aggrieved workers have to alter the complaint.

The PAGA notice is effective as of the day that it is filed online.

For example, if an employee is fired in violation of California labor law on August 1, 2022, then he or she has until September 30, 2023, to file a PAGA notice online. If he or she files on the last day, then the Labor and Workforce Development Agency has a further 65 days to decide whether to intervene. If they do not decide until the 65 days elapses, then the employee may then pursue a representative claim.

What Happens If the Statute of Limitations Has Already Passed?

If an aggrieved employee does not file a PAGA notice within a year of the most recent labor violation, then the lawsuit will be dismissed. As discussed above, the 1-year statute of limitations is paused during the 65 days after the employee notifies the agency. After the statute of limitations expires, the “relation back doctrine” grants employees an additional 60 days to alter their complaint without the PAGA claim being time-barred.

It should be noted that there is a slim exception where employee may be allowed to bring PAGA claims for labor violations that happened over a year prior. This occurs when the worker is still employed and is still under the control of an unlawful employment agreement.

Please tell us your story:

5 + 3 = ?

See all blogs: Business | Corporate | Employment

At Will Employment

At will employment means that the employer or the worker may end the employment relationship at any time. When an employment is at will, the employer can terminate employees for no reason.

Can You Get Fired for Looking for Another Job?

Firing an employee for looking for another job is legal under California Labor Code § 2922. Employees in California are employed on an “at-will” which means the employee or employer can terminate the working relationship at any time for any reason.

Can an employee be terminated while on medical leave?

It depends on the reason the employee is on medical leave. Under the FMLA, an employee cannot be terminated simply because they take leave. An employee is free to take medical leave without fear of losing their job. However, if there is a reason unrelated to the medical leave, an employer does have the right to terminate an employee.

Can Slack Admins Read DMs?

Yes. Slack admin and employer can read every DMs, private channels, private messages sent between team members. Employers on either Slack's free tier or paid tier need to submit a request to Slack before they can access your private chats.

Four Hour Minimum Pay

Yes - under California employment law, when an employee is scheduled to work an eight-hour shift, and the work is canceled, the employer must pay a minimum of four hours.

How far back do PAGA claims go?

A PAGA claim is generally one year from the date of the last employment law violation on which the PAGA claim is based.

FICA Withholding: What is FICA tax on my paycheck?

What is FICA tax on my paycheck? FICA is a federal wage tax. FICA taxes requires withholding from an employee’s gross earnings: 6.2% for social security and 1.45% for Medicare. The employer matches these percentages for a total of 15.3%.

Why Does EDD Do a Benefit Audit?

The EDD conducts benefit audits to help pay Unemployment Insurance benefits to only eligible claimants only, prevents fraud in the UI program, and helps companies control UI costs. The EDD’s responsibility is to collect payroll taxes and conduct payroll audits of businesses.

What Does PAGA Mean in a Lawsuit?

The word PAGA is an acronym for the Private Attorney General Act, which is the Labor Code that authorizes employees to file a lawsuit to recover civil penalties for themselves and other employees. PAGA confers a private right of action to individuals to prosecute under PAGA and incentivizes the employee to keep 25% of collected civil penalties.

What does an employment lawyer do?

An employment lawyer help employers and employees understand their respective rights and obligations, such as wages, wrongful termination, overtime, PTO, disability, discrimination, harassment, etc.

Can my employer call my doctor?

Generally, yes, your employer can call your doctor; however, the questions your employer ask is limited and protected by HIPAA Privacy Law. Your employer has the right to contact your doctor to verify the authenticity of a doctor’s note but cannot ask about your medical condition or diagnosis.

Can I Be Fired for Work Restrictions?

State and federal laws protect employees from employers firing employees because of work restrictions. If you’re fired at work, please get in touch with our employment attorney for a free consultation on work restrictions ignored by the employer.

What Qualifies as an EEOC Complaint?

The EEOC is a federal agency that investigates workplace discrimination and harassment based on race, gender, ethnicity, national origin, age, religion, medical status, and disability. There are time limits for filing a complaint with the EEOC.

EEOC Complaint Process

Before filing an EEOC complaint, employees should understand the entire EEOC complaint process. This article answers many Frequently Asked Questions on the EEOC complaint process.

Do guys get paid paternity leave?

A father is eligible for paternity leave if three conditions are met: 1) welcome a new child within the first twelve months; 2) Paid into the State Disability Insurance; 3) Has not taken more than eight weeks of paternity leave in the past twelve months.

California PTO Payout Law

California law declares vacation time to be earned wages, and vacation time is accumulated as work is performed. So, an employee who has the right to ten days of vacation per year will after six months of work earn five days of vacation time.

Suing For Unpaid Wages California

It is totally unfair for an employee to work and not get paid; employees have bills and rent to pay. Employees suing for unpaid wages in California can get help from an employment attorney.

How Much Does It Cost To Hire a Lawyer To Sue My Employer?

People often ask me how much does an employment lawyer cost? Employees generally have claims against the employer, and an employment lawyer typically works on a contingent fee - meaning there is no fee unless the lawyer wins the employee's case.

Employee Management

Employee management is the process of aid employees to do their best work daily to achieve the company’s goal. Employee management helps improve employee satisfaction and productivity to help a company achieve its overall goals.

Is It Legal To Pay Employees Cash Under the Table?

Paying employees in cash is not illegal but frequently employers do not comply with employment laws concerning paying in cash. Employees' lawsuit against the employer for paying in cash has resulted in settlements averaging $100,000.

What is a demand letter?

A demand letter is a letter that is commonly written by a lawyer on behalf of a client setting forth facts supporting a demand for money. A demand letter is usually the first step in resolving a dispute between two opposing parties.

EEOC Discrimination

Learn about the various types of EEOC-prohibited discrimination. The EEOC protects employees from discrimination based on gender, race, ethnicity, gender, religion, national origin, age, disability, etc.

Standard PTO Policy for Small Business

A standard PTO for small businesses depends on the years an employee worked for the company. On average, the standard PTO for one to five years is ten days and six to ten years averages fifteen days.

Retaliation for Reporting Harassment at Work

An employer who punishes an employee who reported sexual harassment in the workplace violates state and federal law and is liable for retaliation. Examples of retaliation include demotion, fewer working hours, segregation, or termination.

Obscene and Sexual Gestures a Work

We're not talking about the ubiquitous middle finger that says fuck you. Obscene and sexual gestures at work may include two fingers in a V shape, with a tongue in between. 

Quid Pro Quo Sexual Harassment

One of the most common types of sexual harassment is Quid pro quo sexual harassment, and it is one of the easiest to hide. All types of workplace sexual harassment are illegal.

Reporting Time Pay

Wages are what we mean when we use the term "reporting time pay." If employers do not pay all of this at the moment of an employee being terminated, there may be waiting time penalties involved.

Can I Sue My Employer For Not Paying Me Correctly?

Employees work hard and deserve to be paid correctly, and on time. It sucks when an employee works hard, and long hours only to be paid incorrectly while the boss is driving a Lambo or Benz.

See all blog: Business | Corporate | Employment

© Copyright | Nakase Law Firm (2019)