Is an employer required to pay a minimum of 4 hours in California when the employer cancels an employee scheduled 8 hours work shift?

Yes – under California employment law, when an employee is scheduled to work an eight-hour shift, and the work is canceled, the employer must pay a minimum of four hours.

Author: Brad Nakase, Attorney

Email  |  Call (888) 600-8654

Is There a Four-Hour Minimum Shift in California?

When an employee is ready to work a typical eight-hour period but arrives only to have their manager tell them to go home, this situation creates multiple problems.

When employees cannot work and fulfill their duties, they become unduly burdened. Not only did the worker miss out on a regular day of compensation, but they were also forced to drive to work and pay for gas for no reason. Plus, many employees have other sources of employment that, in this scenario, they miss out on.

California employment attorneys help protect employees who are prepared to work and on schedule and unable to perform their duties.

What is California’s Minimum Pay Requirement?

California’s Minimum Pay Requirement is a law that stipulates that workers who are instructed to work are paid for a minimum of half of their arranged work period. Therefore, if an employee’s supervisor tells them to end work early, they are compensated for half of the time.If the worker reports to the job just to be told there is no work, they should be paid for half their scheduled period. Notably, the schedule must be in place and acknowledged by the worker and the employer.

This article will further describe California’s minimum pay requirement, a policy that all California employees and employers should be aware of. Since workers and their supervisors frequently misinterpret this law, it is paramount that everyone in the state understands how it works.

What Can Individuals Do If They Are Denied Minimum Pay?

California workers must remember what the Four-Hour Minimum Pay Law means for them. The law mandates that employers must pay hourly employees for a minimum of half of their work time.

For example, suppose a supervisor cancels a worker’s shift at short notice. In that case, the employer should pay the worker for at least half of the period. Likewise, if a manager sends a worker home early because there is not enough work to keep the person busy or there are too many workers, the employer should pay the worker who is sent home for at least half of their shift.

California businesses must act under the state’s minimum pay policy and all other federal and local policies and provisions. Employers who fail to abide by the Four-Hour Minimum Pay Law violate their employees’ rights.

What is the Minimum Amount of Hours an Employee Can be Paid for in California?

California’s Reporting Time Pay Law guarantees that workers are partially compensated when they report to work but are unexpectedly disallowed from working their full allotted time.

This law helps workers collect payment for showing up to work but being unable to work based on the employer’s decisions. Whether the employee is denied work because their boss did not give them a warning, because of planning difficulties, or based on other problems, the worker’s rights to be paid are honored.

What Are the Specifics of the Four-Hour Minimum Law?

Specifically, the law requires workers to be compensated for a minimum of half of their work period if their supervisor or manager dismisses them from the job and does not provide normal notice.

For example, if a worker drives to work only to be sent home after working for one hour of eight hours, the law dictates they be paid for four hours.

Since the majority of work periods in California go for eight hours, many workers receive pay for four hours if they report to work and are denied their eight-hour period; this is where the name of the law originates.

Many employees wonder what the minimum amount of hours they can work in one day is. In California, an employee can work for no legal minimum amount of hours.

While many employers and workers in California believe that part-time workers are kept to a minimum amount of hours, there is no work time minimum for any worker in the state on a daily or monthly basis.

To clarify another misunderstanding, the Four-Hour Minimum Law does not imply that California businesses must schedule their employees for at least four hours.

Are There Exclusions to California’s Four-Hour Law?

Some exceptions exist to California’s Minimum Shift policy, and workers and employers must note these distinctions.

Sometimes, an employer cannot operate their business because of factors outside their control. For example, if a weather emergency such as a tornado or earthquake occurs, or the power goes out, the company may not be able to open or operate. If a rare scenario like this occurs, the minimum shift policy does not apply.

For example, if an emergency occurs in the area where the business is located, and law enforcement officials forbid all businesses from opening, the law does not apply to the impacted companies.

However, some believe that if an employer sends a worker home on the grounds of a disciplinary issue, they do not need to pay the person; this is untrue. When a worker is dismissed for an office problem, for example, an argument with a coworker or supervisor, they still must be compensated for half of their time.

Therefore, worker misconduct is not a reason businesses should suspend employee pay. In these situations, California’s shift policy is still applicable.

Free consultation with an employment lawyer.

Although most California employers act by all laws and principles, some do not. Employers that ignore or violate the Four-Hour Minimum Pay Law breach the rights of their hardworking employees, and this behavior is illegal.

Some employers ignore the minimum-hour policy, and some claim not to understand it, but these excuses do not hold up in a court of law. Therefore, California employees in all industries must understand their right to be paid for half of their shift if their supervisor sends them home early.

If your employer breached your rights, contact our employment attorney immediately. Our experienced attorneys will help you with your wage claim so that you are fairly compensated for your time.

Some employers deny their workers rightful compensation, while other businesses force employees to work more days in a row than is allowed. California’s Four-Hour Minimum Shift Law is frequently misunderstood and sometimes outright ignored. Unfortunately, when this happens, employees suffer the consequences. Our experienced lawyers will quickly review your case and devise the correct strategy to ensure your employer compensates you fully.

Please tell us your story:

5 + 0 = ?

See all blogs: Business | Corporate | Employment

At Will Employment

At will employment means that the employer or the worker may end the employment relationship at any time. When an employment is at will, the employer can terminate employees for no reason.

Can You Get Fired for Looking for Another Job?

Firing an employee for looking for another job is legal under California Labor Code § 2922. Employees in California are employed on an “at-will” which means the employee or employer can terminate the working relationship at any time for any reason.

Can an employee be terminated while on medical leave?

It depends on the reason the employee is on medical leave. Under the FMLA, an employee cannot be terminated simply because they take leave. An employee is free to take medical leave without fear of losing their job. However, if there is a reason unrelated to the medical leave, an employer does have the right to terminate an employee.

Can Slack Admins Read DMs?

Yes. Slack admin and employer can read every DMs, private channels, private messages sent between team members. Employers on either Slack's free tier or paid tier need to submit a request to Slack before they can access your private chats.

Four Hour Minimum Pay

Yes - under California employment law, when an employee is scheduled to work an eight-hour shift, and the work is canceled, the employer must pay a minimum of four hours.

How far back do PAGA claims go?

A PAGA claim is generally one year from the date of the last employment law violation on which the PAGA claim is based.

FICA Withholding: What is FICA tax on my paycheck?

What is FICA tax on my paycheck? FICA is a federal wage tax. FICA taxes requires withholding from an employee’s gross earnings: 6.2% for social security and 1.45% for Medicare. The employer matches these percentages for a total of 15.3%.

Why Does EDD Do a Benefit Audit?

The EDD conducts benefit audits to help pay Unemployment Insurance benefits to only eligible claimants only, prevents fraud in the UI program, and helps companies control UI costs. The EDD’s responsibility is to collect payroll taxes and conduct payroll audits of businesses.

What Does PAGA Mean in a Lawsuit?

The word PAGA is an acronym for the Private Attorney General Act, which is the Labor Code that authorizes employees to file a lawsuit to recover civil penalties for themselves and other employees. PAGA confers a private right of action to individuals to prosecute under PAGA and incentivizes the employee to keep 25% of collected civil penalties.

What does an employment lawyer do?

An employment lawyer help employers and employees understand their respective rights and obligations, such as wages, wrongful termination, overtime, PTO, disability, discrimination, harassment, etc.

Can my employer call my doctor?

Generally, yes, your employer can call your doctor; however, the questions your employer ask is limited and protected by HIPAA Privacy Law. Your employer has the right to contact your doctor to verify the authenticity of a doctor’s note but cannot ask about your medical condition or diagnosis.

Can I Be Fired for Work Restrictions?

State and federal laws protect employees from employers firing employees because of work restrictions. If you’re fired at work, please get in touch with our employment attorney for a free consultation on work restrictions ignored by the employer.

What Qualifies as an EEOC Complaint?

The EEOC is a federal agency that investigates workplace discrimination and harassment based on race, gender, ethnicity, national origin, age, religion, medical status, and disability. There are time limits for filing a complaint with the EEOC.

EEOC Complaint Process

Before filing an EEOC complaint, employees should understand the entire EEOC complaint process. This article answers many Frequently Asked Questions on the EEOC complaint process.

Do guys get paid paternity leave?

A father is eligible for paternity leave if three conditions are met: 1) welcome a new child within the first twelve months; 2) Paid into the State Disability Insurance; 3) Has not taken more than eight weeks of paternity leave in the past twelve months.

California PTO Payout Law

California law declares vacation time to be earned wages, and vacation time is accumulated as work is performed. So, an employee who has the right to ten days of vacation per year will after six months of work earn five days of vacation time.

Suing For Unpaid Wages California

It is totally unfair for an employee to work and not get paid; employees have bills and rent to pay. Employees suing for unpaid wages in California can get help from an employment attorney.

How Much Does It Cost To Hire a Lawyer To Sue My Employer?

People often ask me how much does an employment lawyer cost? Employees generally have claims against the employer, and an employment lawyer typically works on a contingent fee - meaning there is no fee unless the lawyer wins the employee's case.

Employee Management

Employee management is the process of aid employees to do their best work daily to achieve the company’s goal. Employee management helps improve employee satisfaction and productivity to help a company achieve its overall goals.

Is It Legal To Pay Employees Cash Under the Table?

Paying employees in cash is not illegal but frequently employers do not comply with employment laws concerning paying in cash. Employees' lawsuit against the employer for paying in cash has resulted in settlements averaging $100,000.

What is a demand letter?

A demand letter is a letter that is commonly written by a lawyer on behalf of a client setting forth facts supporting a demand for money. A demand letter is usually the first step in resolving a dispute between two opposing parties.

EEOC Discrimination

Learn about the various types of EEOC-prohibited discrimination. The EEOC protects employees from discrimination based on gender, race, ethnicity, gender, religion, national origin, age, disability, etc.

Standard PTO Policy for Small Business

A standard PTO for small businesses depends on the years an employee worked for the company. On average, the standard PTO for one to five years is ten days and six to ten years averages fifteen days.

Retaliation for Reporting Harassment at Work

An employer who punishes an employee who reported sexual harassment in the workplace violates state and federal law and is liable for retaliation. Examples of retaliation include demotion, fewer working hours, segregation, or termination.

Obscene and Sexual Gestures a Work

We're not talking about the ubiquitous middle finger that says fuck you. Obscene and sexual gestures at work may include two fingers in a V shape, with a tongue in between. 

Quid Pro Quo Sexual Harassment

One of the most common types of sexual harassment is Quid pro quo sexual harassment, and it is one of the easiest to hide. All types of workplace sexual harassment are illegal.

Reporting Time Pay

Wages are what we mean when we use the term "reporting time pay." If employers do not pay all of this at the moment of an employee being terminated, there may be waiting time penalties involved.

Can I Sue My Employer For Not Paying Me Correctly?

Employees work hard and deserve to be paid correctly, and on time. It sucks when an employee works hard, and long hours only to be paid incorrectly while the boss is driving a Lambo or Benz.

See all blog: Business | Corporate | Employment

© Copyright | Nakase Law Firm (2019)