Suing For Unpaid Wages, California

It is totally unfair for an employee to work and not get paid; employees have bills and rent to pay. Employees suing for unpaid wages in California can get help from an employment attorney.

Brad Nakase, Attorney

Email  |  Tel (888) 600-8654

Can you sue a company for not giving you what you paid for?

In order to financially survive in the world, one must get a job and be paid for that service. Thankfully, these wages (cost of completing service, task, or specific job) are ensured by law.

Wages is defined as payment in exchange for labor. Labor is defined to include, “labor, work, or service whether rendered or performed under contract … or other agreement if the labor to be paid for is performed personally by the person demanding payment.” Basically, labor includes any work performed for the benefit of an employer. However, sometimes the issue arises as to when payments must be made and what happens if payments are late. Can you sue a company for not giving you what you paid for? In California, suing for unpaid wage is an appropriate course of action.

How long does an employer have to pay you after payday in California?

Most payments are paid bi-monthly, or twice a month. Specifically, employers usually pay their employees the 1st and 15th of the month. However, some employees, specifically those salaried and covered under the Fair Labors Standards Act, may be paid once per month. This occurs with some teachers; they are paid at the first of the month for the entire month. Overtime, time worked over expected shifts, must be paid no later than the next payday in order to be determined as on time.

How long can an employer hold your check after termination?

Issues and fears usually arise when being fired or let go from a specific position. People wonder how and when will they be paid for the time worked before this termination. California sets out guidelines in order to protect both the employee and employer. If an employee is fired or terminated, payment for work done that has yet to be paid for is due immediately. For example, if you worked three shifts at a restaurant and haven’t been paid since the first of the month, you are due that three shift payment the moment of termination. However, if you are laid off, the time period is not immediate but rather in a reasonable time as long as that period does not exceed 72 hours.

If an employer does not follow the California paycheck law, you can sue for unpaid wages. For each day the employee wage is not paid, the employee will accrue her daily wages until payment is made. However, this accrual cannot exceed 30 days.

Please contact us if you believe you have been wronged and have unpaid wages. Handing the problem internally would allow both parties to understand each other and end the issue quickly. However, if this is not an option or it has already been taken and failed, you can sue the employer for unpaid wages. A court may deem compensatory damages as well as punitive especially if the employer has been fined previously or willfully withheld the overdue unpaid wages for an unlawful reason. However, due to statute of limitations, or deadline for filing an unpaid wage case, it is important and dire to ensure you have taken and spoken with an unpaid lawyer as soon as you see an issue.

Please tell us your story:

1 + 2 = ?

Retaliation for Reporting Harassment at Work

An employer who punishes an employee who reported sexual harassment in the workplace violates state and federal law and is liable for retaliation. Examples of retaliation include demotion, fewer working hours, segregation, or termination.

Obscene and Sexual Gestures a Work

We're not talking about the ubiquitous middle finger that says fuck you. Obscene and sexual gestures at work may include two fingers in a V shape, with a tongue in between. 

Quid Pro Quo Sexual Harassment

One of the most common types of sexual harassment is Quid pro quo sexual harassment, and it is one of the easiest to hide. All types of workplace sexual harassment are illegal.

Reporting Time Pay

Wages are what we mean when we use the term "reporting time pay." If employers do not pay all of this at the moment of an employee being terminated, there may be waiting time penalties involved.

Can I Sue My Employer For Not Paying Me Correctly?

Employees work hard and deserve to be paid correctly, and on time. It sucks when an employee works hard, and long hours only to be paid incorrectly while the boss is driving a Lambo or Benz.

8 FAQ Answer: Employees Must Know About Wrongful Termination

If an employee believes that he or she has been unlawfully fired from their job, he or she may file a wrongful termination claim in court. These claims are based on the alleged breaking of federal or state anti-discrimination law, employment contracts, or labor laws.

What Are the Signs of a Toxic Coworker?

The 8 identifying traits of of a toxic coworker are: 1. The toxic coworker is often sarcastic. 2. The toxic coworker often insults and mock others. 3. The toxic coworker is selfish...

Two-Week Notice Letter: 9 Tips and 2 Templates

If an employee decides to resign from his or her job, it is normal and expected to provide their employer with two weeks’ notice. Regardless of why a person is leaving their job, it is considered professional to give their employer enough time to make plans to cover the absence.

Do guys get paid paternity leave?

A father is eligible for paternity leave if three conditions are met: 1) welcome a new child within the first twelve months; 2) Paid into the State Disability Insurance; 3) Has not taken more than eight weeks of paternity leave in the past twelve months.

6 Things to Know About At-Will Employment

“At-will” means that an employer can fire an employee for any reason at any time without getting into legal trouble. The exception is that the reason cannot be illegal in nature.

7 Things Women Should Know About Sexual Harassment

Sexual harassment is an umbrella term covering many forms of unwelcome verbal and physical sexual attention. Sexual assault, meanwhile, is physical sexual contact or behavior that happens without the consent of the victim.

How Long Is Maternity Leave in California?

Under California law, companies with at least five employees must provide new parents with 12 weeks of unpaid maternity leave. Similarly, companies with at least five employees must also grant up to four months of unpaid pregnancy-disability leave to workers who are unable to work due to pregnancy or childbirth.

10 Tips on California Law Expense Reimbursement Time Limit

Under California labor law, employers are required to reimburse employees for business expenses made during the course of their employment, so long as they are necessary and reasonable in nature. This means that an employer must pay an employee back for any financial losses the employee accepted as part of doing his or her job.

What are the 4 Caregiver rights in California?

Employers often face lawsuits from caregivers for violating caregivers’ rights, such as basic wages. A caregiver is an individual who has taken on the role of both care provider and advocate.

How to Find an Employment Lawyer

Often referred to as work lawyers, employment lawyers are attorneys who specialize in employment law and represent workers in all positions across many industries. In California, employment lawyers understand workers’ rights according to the state’s labor laws and can help wronged employees sue and seek damages for improper or unlawful treatment at a workplace.

6 Tips for Prorated Vacation

Employees can earn time off according to different methods, which are normally specified in an employee handbook. Some employers choose to have employees accrue vacation time based on hours worked.

4 Tips on Work Uniform Law

Any employer who does not reimburse employees' for work uniform expenses may result in an employee's lawsuit and over $100,000 in damages.

Do You Get Paid for Pre-Employment Training?

Employers are frequently sued for not paying employees for pre-employment training. There is no such thing as "pre-employment." All training are considered employment training.

4 Good Reasons for Missing Work and 3 Bad Reasons for Missing Work

Illness, family emergencies, and important appointments can happen without warning, and are legitimate reasons for missing work. There are also some bad, and unadvisable, reasons to miss work without notice. These reasons can appear unprofessional and irresponsible and may lead to consequences.

9 Legal Reasons to Call Out of Work

That brutal winter cough. The eye doctor’s appointment you’ve been putting off for a year and a half. Your son falls off the monkey bars and needs a cast. Your fourteen-year-old dog dies. Your basement floods. You’re just plain tired.

5 Steps on How to Call Off Work

Now and again, and employee will run into situations where he or she needs to miss work. Generally, employers understand when one of their workers needs to clock out early or miss a day on account of personal affairs, medical problems, or emergencies.

California PTO Payout Law

California law declares vacation time to be earned wages, and vacation time is accumulated as work is performed. So, an employee who has the right to ten days of vacation per year will after six months of work earn five days of vacation time.

Can I Use My PTO Whenever I Want?

When it comes to using PTO, employees can generally use it whenever they want. That said, they must receive the approval of their supervisor first. At some companies, there are “blackout” periods, when no one at the company may take a vacation.

© Copyright | Nakase Law Firm (2019)